The Shadow Figures of the Vrsic Pass

 

I took the high road through the pass.

The rain and mist whisped round the pine,

Above the trees the clouds touched earth:

I saw the shadow figures there.

 

I moved towards them, they withdrew.

The shadow figures knew the tracks:

They knew them like the hazel grouse.

They padded lightly with the lynx.

 

I saw their faces briefly there:

Beyond the rock face, glaring down.

I saw their questions, wild and raw,

With human eyes and shadow souls.

 

The mists soon closed the Vrsic Pass:

The shadow figures melted back.

 

 

4 Comments to “The Shadow Figures of the Vrsic Pass”

  1. The Vrsic Pass is a mountain pass in North-Western Slovenia, through the Julian Alps. The road there was constructed by Russian prisoners of war in the 1914-1918 conflict.

  2. I Reaaly Like The Image You Create With The Third Verse. Very nice.

  3. Their haunted eyes came alive before me as I read your poem. Thanks for the note following.

Leave a Reply

