The Atacama Humanoid

 

You called us dust and distant lands.

With sandstorm veil and mysteries bound,

With feet as sharp as cactus wren:

You claimed the stars, your hands were scarred.

 

Beyond the nitrate mine and cross,

You carried us to ocean’s scents,

To know the horrors of the edge,

To ask us how we bent the Earth.

 

We wept and tasted desert rose,

We shook beneath the condor’s wing,

We hid from caracara’s claw.

You called this home, this tear-stained sky.

 

We lived in fear of men and dogs,

For freedom begged the desert moon.

 

 

9 Comments to “The Atacama Humanoid”

  1. Great write, I especially love “You called this home, this tear-stained sky” wow!

  2. Dramatic and thought provoking. Nice write.

  3. Admittedly I am not sure what the title refers to. Writing is strong, but I find myself wishing for footnotes to aid my understanding. I suppose I could google, but….

  4. This is wonderful the language and imagery are so vivid

  5. Nice rhythms and half rhymes.
    I like the line:
    /to ask us how we bent the earth/
    really intriguing and powerful.

  6. “To know the horrors of the edge, to ask us how we bent the earth”……….love it! I can see we earthlings trying to explain to an alien why we have been so destructive to the planet. Good one, kiddo! I love the metre of your poems, which seems effortless for you.

  7. This is a sonnet without the rhyme which works very well. Nice images of tear stained sky and feet as sharp cactus wren.

  8. I do so love your words.

    Anna :o]

Leave a Reply

