In the Air

 

You lead me through the lives of stars,

Encircle all who wish to see.

You slip through time, you link and bind.

You light the deep and endless blue.

 

Your revelations never cease:

On moonless nights you show the way;

In caves your luminescence shines;

On forest floors you mark the trails.

 

You hold me as I fall apart,

And cradle all my fading sparks.

You gather up the thoughts of me,

And place them on the tops of trees.

 

Your light, which flows through every point,

Connects me to the flux of life.

 

linked up to the great:  Poets United

 

17 Comments to “In the Air”

  1. I wanted to thank you for becoming a follower. I don’t have any posts on wordpress. My blog address is law-poetry.blogspot.com.

    • Hi – yup, regular visitor to your blogspot. Just clicked through from the link in my comments box and it took me through to the wordpress… is that a site under development, or one which “has been”?

  2. Enjoyed the feel, flow and spirit in this.

  3. This to me is an ode to the moon. Is it so?

    • it is part of a series of poems exploring the notion of Elementals – in this case Sylphs. Although the moon would be a wonderful subject for a similar poem it isn’t of the air.

  4. This just flowed. Wonderful.

  5. You gather up the thoughts of me,

    And place them on the tops of trees.

    Superb – as is the rest of it. Congratulations.

  6. Excellent! Well honed words , add meaning at various levels….:)

  7. You continue to share beautiful poetry on Sunday! This takes my breath away.

  8. Your sylphs are driving me crazy.

  9. “You lead me through the lives of stars”….so incredibly beautiful. After reading the wealth of love in the Pantry this morning, I am beginning to feel deprived, hee hee. This is so beautifully written, Gavin. I love “you gather up the thoughts of me and place them on the tops of trees.” Brilliant writing.

  10. This is spellbinding…. you really have a way with words!

  11. I enjoyed this modern sonnet. Like the idea of air being a substance with many tasks and gifts.
    [As long as we humans keep our hands off it :-)]

  12. “You hold me as I fall apart,

    And cradle all my fading sparks.

    You gather up the thoughts of me,

    And place them on the tops of trees.”

    Awesome verse. Once again, superlative cadence throughout the entire piece. The reverent tone was excellently used as well.

Leave a Reply

