Our Time

 

We let these moments pass us by:

The simple gust, the breeze of dust.

As if the air were empty space,

A different and inhuman place.

 

Inhale like every other time:

That breath was once in Sappho’s lungs,

In fibres rolled in ancient scrolls,

And mixed with Dreamtime songs and chants.

 

And Lorca’s final, sand-filled gasp

Is falling now as Autumn rain.

And Rosa’s blood from Landwehr ditch,

Is in the beat of every heart.

 

We miss the air, as air flows by.

The drops of Lethe have filled our sighs.

20 Comments to “Our Time”

  1. I enjoyed this poem, which caused me to contemplate how everything cycles….and we are all connected to those who have lived before us.

    I am glad to see you at Poets United Poetry Pantry. I will add you to the blog roll, and I encourage you to make some visits to other poets here. Come back Wednesday as well for Ella’s Wednesday Words writing prompt

    • Hi, thanks for the comments. I will certainly be visiting the site and other blogs. There’s some really enjoyable work from what I’ve seen thus far. I will try to drop by Wednesday – I teach, so weekdays are “come home and crash”, but will definitely drop by when I can. Thanks again.

    • Hoped you would visit / comment a few blogs of those who posted here. That is part of the fun.

  2. You’ve expressed beautifully the interconnection of all of life… I especially enjoyed the idea in

    Inhale like every other time:

    That breath was once in Sappho’s lungs,”

    well done.

  3. “We let these moments pass us by”…that line says so much…and “As if the air were empty space”…there is history in the air, stories to be told…you have conveyed that so well here in your piece.

  4. Iambic tetrameter flowed and bounced so well. I always, always enjoy effective, deliberate craft.

    Great poetic references, too. Awesomely done.

    • Thanks for this. I have been writing in 14 line, un-rhymed iambic tetrameters for about three years now. Just randomly settled on it – after a little experimentation. I find having an inflexible structure “in the bag” means I really don’t need to worry about the form – it’s not re-inventing that aspect of my writing each time. That kind of constraint helps my creativity in a curious way – and boy does it need what help it can get. I also love the riddle and game element such an approach creates.

  5. Your writing is very beautiful. So nice to “meet” you through Poets United. Hope to see you again.

  6. Beautiful. Thank you. Makes me glad to be human.

  7. Really lovely meter, almost found myself breathing in time–and so true how we just let simple things slide by-a beautiful poem. 🙂

  8. Superb. Should be set to music. Truly.

    • Thanks very much. Am looking through your work and also am enjoying. One line is especially tweaking me: “my inner age, the age I’ve always been,”. I’ve just finished teaching my first class of the week – 16/17 year olds. I wish I could show them the meaning of your phrase…

  9. Ah, formal poetry does have its enchantment! This is lovely, as others have also said.

  10. This is a beautiful poem.. you have personified some of my thoughts that I could never find words for.. Amazingly written,,

  11. Beautiful! I am so happy you did post this…I missed it the first time…
    I too love the reference to the inner age…. 😀
    Well done~

  12. Hmmm, don’t know who Sappho or Lethe Lorca or Rosa or Landwehr are. Not a poem meant for us ordinary folk and no links. I will check out one more poem.

  13. Happy to supply info. Wouldn’t put links (think that would make presumptions about readers’ knowledge which may be somewhat patronising). There are intriguing possibilities for using them in a formal structural sense in a poem though.

    Sappho – poet born on the Island of Lesbos 7th Century BCE. She was widely regarded as one of the greatest lyric poets of antiquity. The surviving fragments of her work are beautiful indeed. Well worth looking up.

    Lethe is the river of forgetting: the dead were said to have their memories cleaned by passing through its waters.

    Lorca – Federico Garcia Lorca was a wonderful poet, dramatist and theatre director. He was murdered by Francist soldiers in the Spanish Civil War (either because of his homosexuality or his politics) and was dumped in an unmarked grave.

    Rosa (and Landwehr) – Rosa Luxemburg: Polish/German philosopher, political activist and writer. She was murdered in 1919 and her body thrown in the Landwehr canal in Berlin (by political opponents).

    btw: I’ve never in all my life encountered “ordinary folk”. Everyone, but everyone, on this planet is extraordinary…

  14. The gentle style and tone of this – like the air – contrasts well with the incidents you describe. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for visiting my site too.

Leave a Reply

