Monsters

 

I’ve heard the bunyip howl in swamps,

Its screams as loud as hurricanes.

I’ve seen the creatures crouch and hide,

As bunyip footsteps shake the earth.

 

I’ve felt the dread of moonless nights

In forests writhing, thick with snakes,

Majestics shrieking from the trees,

The sounds of death and feeding life.

 

I’ve woken in the dark of dawn,

My mind ablaze with wordless fears,

Anxieties dragging monsters out.

From every shadow: clashing teeth

 

And now I walk into the maze,

To find the beast and face it down.

Leave a Reply

